- What the Data Actually Shows About the CCT Pass Rate
- What ACMA Publishes and What It Leaves Out
- Exam Mechanics That Shape Your Odds
- Two Attempts, One Year: The Real Pass-Rate Variable
- Where the Points Live: Six Domains, Unequal Weights
- Why Qualified Technicians Still Miss 80%
- A Domain-Weighted Preparation Sequence
- The Financial Stakes of a Failed Attempt
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ACMA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Composites Technician Open Molding (CCT-OM) exam, so any quoted percentage is unverified.
- The passing standard is 80% on a 100-question, 2-hour multiple-choice exam, so roughly 20 misses is the ceiling.
- You get two included attempts within a one-year window; after both, you must fully re-enroll.
- Laminating Application Technology carries 30% of the exam, more than any other domain.
What the Data Actually Shows About the CCT Pass Rate
If you searched for a percentage, here is the honest answer: the pass rate for the Certified Composites Technician Open Molding exam is not publicly disclosed. The American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) administers the credential and has not published first-attempt, cumulative, or annual pass statistics on its public program pages. That means any figure you see on a forum, a social post, or a competing prep site is either a guess, a recycled number from an unrelated certification, or an anecdote from a single training cohort.
This matters because the acronym "CCT" is shared by several unrelated credentials, and pass-rate claims drift between them constantly. This article is scoped strictly to ACMA's Certified Composites Technician program, specifically the Open Molding specialty (CCT-OM). Instead of manufacturing a number, we will walk through the verifiable structural facts that determine how hard it is to pass, and what you can do about each one. For a broader look at difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CCT exam is.
What ACMA Publishes and What It Leaves Out
The useful way to read the "data" on this credential is to separate what is verified from what is silent. ACMA's Open Molding program page and its linked Open Molding Body of Knowledge give us a firm skeleton. Here is the breakdown.
| Item | Status | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Pass rate | Not disclosed | No public first-attempt or overall figure |
| Passing score | Verified | 80% |
| Question count | Verified | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Verified | 2 hours |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed | Unknown whether some items are unscored |
| Attempts included | Verified | Two, within a one-year window |
| Domain weights | Verified | 20 / 20 / 30 / 10 / 10 / 10 percent |
| Open-book or calculator rules | Not verified | Confirm inside your enrollment |
The gaps are as informative as the facts. Because ACMA does not say whether any questions are unscored, you should assume every item counts. And because open-book and calculator permissions have not been verified for the current exam, do not build your plan around either; confirm the rules inside your enrollment before you sit. For the scoring specifics, our CCT passing score breakdown goes deeper.
Exam Mechanics That Shape Your Odds
An 80% bar on 100 questions
The 80% threshold is the single most important number you can verify. On a 100-question exam, that leaves a very narrow margin: about 20 incorrect answers is the maximum you can afford if every item is scored. Many general-knowledge exams set cut scores lower. A trade credential built around process discipline, such as this one, expects fluency, not familiarity.
Self-launch delivery
ACMA's live FAQ describes a self-launch format delivered through the ACMA Education Hub, under My Enrollments. There is no proctor or access code to wait for and no advance scheduling, so you start the exam when you are ready rather than booking a fixed seat weeks ahead. An outside test-center vendor has not been verified, so do not plan on one. This removes scheduling friction, but it also removes the forcing function of a calendar date, which is a real risk for procrastinators. See CCT exam dates and scheduling for how the window works in practice.
Two Attempts, One Year: The Real Pass-Rate Variable
When people ask about the pass rate, they often really want to know "what happens if I fail?" The attempt structure is the answer, and it is more forgiving than many credentials but not unlimited.
- Two attempts are included with your enrollment.
- One-year completion window applies from enrollment.
- After both attempts are used, full re-enrollment is required.
- The old $100 retake fee no longer applies.
That last point is worth noting if you read older material that mentions a separate retake charge. The current process folds two attempts into the enrollment price, then sends you back through enrollment rather than charging an à la carte retake. In practical terms, a first-attempt miss is recoverable, but a second miss is expensive. Your real objective is to treat attempt one as the one that counts and attempt two as insurance, not as a practice run.
Where the Points Live: Six Domains, Unequal Weights
The Open Molding Body of Knowledge verifies six examination domains. These are six content areas within one specialty exam, not six separate exams. The weights are lopsided, which means study time should be too. Our full guide to all six CCT content areas covers each in depth; here is the pass-rate-relevant view.
Domain 3: Laminating Application Technology (30%)
The heaviest domain by a wide margin. Roughly 30 of 100 questions come from here, so weakness in this area is very hard to offset elsewhere.
- Hand lay-up technique and wet-out of reinforcement
- Resin and reinforcement handling, including consolidation and roll-out
- Build-up sequencing and avoiding common laminate defects
Domain 1: Basic Composites Knowledge/Manufacturing Materials and Process/Overview of Open Molding Lamination (20%)
The foundation domain. Terminology, materials, and process overview here underpin every other section.
- Core composite materials and how they interact
- The open molding process at a high level
- Vocabulary that reappears throughout the exam
Domain 2: Gel Coat Application Technology (20%)
Gel coat is the visible, protective surface layer, and this domain tests whether you understand how to apply it correctly.
- Gel coat application methods and equipment considerations
- Film thickness, cure, and surface-related defects
- How gel coat decisions affect the finished part
Domains 4, 5, and 6: Controlled Spraying, The Approach to Quality, and Finishing and Repair (10% each)
Together these make up 30% of the exam, and each is small enough that candidates are tempted to skip it. That is a mistake when your margin is only about 20 missed questions.
- Controlled Spraying Technology: spray application control and consistency
- The Approach to Quality: process control and quality mindset
- Open Molding Finishing and Repair: post-cure finishing and corrective work
Why Qualified Technicians Still Miss 80%
Because ACMA reports no failure statistics, we cannot say how many candidates miss the mark. What we can do is reason from the structure about where experienced shop-floor people tend to lose points. These are inferences from the exam design, not published data.
Floor skill versus textbook answer
A technician may lay up flawless parts yet answer a question with the shop-habit answer rather than the standards-based one. The exam is built from the Body of Knowledge, so the "correct" answer is the one that matches that document and the Basic Composites Manual, not necessarily your plant's local practice. ACMA verified a March 2025 update to the Basic Composites Manual, so older printed copies or notes may be out of step with current content.
Neglecting the 10% domains
Three domains at 10% each total 30% of the exam. Skipping them to focus on lamination can sink an otherwise strong attempt, because an 80% cut score leaves little room to give away whole content areas.
Overconfidence with unlimited time to launch
Self-launch with no scheduling pressure makes it easy to start before you have reviewed all six domains. Candidates who treat the first attempt casually are the ones who end up leaning on the second.
Key Takeaway
Your pass probability is driven less by a mythical national average and more by coverage. With a 30% domain and three 10% domains, a balanced command of all six areas beats deep expertise in one or two.
A Domain-Weighted Preparation Sequence
Rather than a generic schedule, here is a sequence tied to the verified weights. It assumes you have your enrollment materials and have read the Open Molding Body of Knowledge. For a fuller plan, see our CCT study guide, and keep the CCT cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Foundations (Domain 1, 20%)
- Read the Body of Knowledge and the Basic Composites Manual sections it references
- Build a glossary of materials and process terms
- Take a short diagnostic at our practice test site to find weak spots
Surface Layer (Domain 2, 20%)
- Study gel coat application and defect causes
- Link gel coat choices to downstream laminate behavior
The Big One (Domain 3, 30%)
- Spend two weeks here because it is the largest share of points
- Drill lamination sequence, wet-out, and defect recognition
- Re-test frequently with practice questions
The Three 10% Domains
- Controlled spraying, quality approach, and finishing/repair
- Treat each as a must-pass area, not an afterthought
Full-Length Simulation
- Run a timed 100-question session against the 2-hour limit
- Aim consistently above 80% before launching the real exam
The principle behind the order: build vocabulary first so later domains make sense, give lamination double the time because it is double any of the smaller sections, and reserve the final stretch for timed simulation. Do not launch your real attempt until simulated scores sit comfortably above the 80% line, since the real exam will feel harder than practice.
The Financial Stakes of a Failed Attempt
Pass rate discussions tend to ignore money, but the fee structure is part of why first-attempt readiness matters. For Open Molding, verified enrollment is $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, and that price includes the stated course materials and the exam itself. Because two attempts are bundled in, a single miss does not cost you a separate fee. Two misses, however, force a full re-enrollment. The older $100 retake fee no longer applies. Pricing is verified for Open Molding and Advanced Composites; we do not assert it is identical across every specialty track. The full picture is in our CCT certification cost breakdown.
| Scenario | What happens |
|---|---|
| Pass on attempt 1 | Credential earned within the enrollment fee |
| Miss, pass on attempt 2 | No extra fee, still inside the one-year window |
| Miss both attempts | Full re-enrollment required |
| Window expires unused | Re-enrollment needed to continue |
Passing is also not the end of the cost conversation. The credential is valid for three years, and renewal requires the specialty course or workbook plus an assessment. Verified Open Molding renewal pricing is $70 for members and $125 for non-members. If your certification lapses beyond 12 months, you must go through the initial process again, so renewal timing is worth tracking. Whether the investment pays off for you depends on your role and employer; our ROI analysis and salary guide address that question, and our requirements overview explains eligibility, which is specialty-specific.
Frequently Asked Questions
ACMA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Open Molding CCT exam. The verified standard is an 80% passing score on a 100-question, 2-hour multiple-choice exam. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere lacks a public ACMA source.
Two attempts are included with enrollment, within a one-year completion window. If you use both without passing, you must fully re-enroll. The former $100 retake fee no longer applies.
According to ACMA's live FAQ, the exam is self-launch through the ACMA Education Hub under My Enrollments, with no proctor, no access code, and no advance scheduling. An outside test-center vendor has not been verified.
Laminating Application Technology, at 30% of the exam. Basic Composites Knowledge and Gel Coat Application Technology each carry 20%, while Controlled Spraying, The Approach to Quality, and Finishing and Repair each carry 10%.
Validity is three years. Renewal requires the specialty course or workbook plus an assessment. If your credential has been expired for more than 12 months, you must complete the initial process again.