- What "Passing" Actually Means on the CCT-OM
- The 80% Math: What It Takes in a 100-Question Exam
- Where the Points Live: Domain Weights and Score Strategy
- Format and Delivery: How the Exam Reaches You
- Two Attempts, One Year: Managing Your Score Risk
- What ACMA Does Not Publish (and How to Plan Around It)
- Cost, Renewal, and the Score Requirement Over Time
- A Score-Driven Prep Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The current initial CCT-OM exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a 2-hour limit, and an 80% passing standard.
- Laminating Application Technology carries 30% of the Open Molding Body of Knowledge, more than any other domain.
- You get two included attempts within a one-year completion window; after that, full re-enrollment is required.
- ACMA does not publicly disclose a pass rate or the scored/unscored question split.
What "Passing" Actually Means on the CCT-OM
The Certified Composites Technician program from the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) is a family of specialty examinations, and this site is scoped to one of them: Certified Composites Technician - Open Molding (CCT-OM). When people search for "CCT passing score," the first thing to settle is which specialty they mean. The figures in this article apply to the Open Molding specialty only, and they should not be assumed to carry over to other ACMA tracks.
For the current initial Open Molding examination, the verified standard is 80% to pass. The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2-hour time limit. That is the headline number, and it is a demanding one: unlike many entry-level technical credentials that accept a score in the 60s or 70s, an 80% line means you can afford to miss only a limited portion of the exam.
If you want a sense of how this passing line fits into the broader challenge, our guide on how hard the CCT exam is walks through difficulty from the candidate's perspective, while this article stays focused on the score itself.
The 80% Math: What It Takes in a 100-Question Exam
On a plain reading of the published format, 100 questions at 80% would suggest 80 correct answers to pass. However, there is a wrinkle worth being honest about: ACMA does not disclose whether the exam includes unscored questions, or how many. Because the scored/unscored split is not published, you cannot treat "80 out of 100" as a guaranteed arithmetic fact. It is the most natural interpretation, and a reasonable planning target, but not a promise.
Here is how to think about it in practical terms:
- Plan for 80 correct as a minimum. Treat anything less as a risk, since you will not know which questions count.
- Aim higher in practice. If your practice scores hover right at 80%, the real exam's wording and your nerves can easily push you under. A cushion of several points in practice testing is sensible.
- Budget about 72 seconds per question. With 2 hours for 100 items, you have roughly 1.2 minutes each. That is comfortable for recall questions and tighter for scenario items, so do not linger.
| Item | Verified CCT-OM Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time limit | 2 hours |
| Passing standard | 80% |
| Scored/unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Public pass rate | Not disclosed |
| Included attempts | Two, within a one-year completion window |
Because no pass rate is published, anyone quoting a precise figure for the CCT-OM should be treated with caution. For a clear-eyed look at what is and is not known, see our breakdown of the CCT pass rate and what the data shows.
Where the Points Live: Domain Weights and Score Strategy
The single most useful thing you can do with an 80% target is to understand where the points are. The Open Molding Body of Knowledge, linked from the current ACMA issuer page, verifies six domain weights: 20, 20, 30, 10, 10, and 10 percent. Because the exam is a pass/fail threshold on the total, you do not need to ace every domain, but you cannot neglect the heavy ones.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: Basic Composites Knowledge/Manufacturing materials and process/Overview of Open Molding Lamination | 20% |
| Domain 2: Gel Coat Application Technology | 20% |
| Domain 3: Laminating Application Technology | 30% |
| Domain 4: Controlled Spraying Technology | 10% |
| Domain 5: The Approach to Quality | 10% |
| Domain 6: Open Molding Finishing and Repair | 10% |
A note on terminology: the "six" here refers to six examination domains inside the Open Molding exam, not six separate specialty exams. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, our complete guide to all six CCT content areas covers the topics domain by domain.
Domain 3: Laminating Application Technology (30%)
This is the single biggest lever on your score. Nearly a third of the exam sits here, so weakness in this domain is very hard to offset elsewhere.
- Hand lay-up technique, including how to wet out reinforcement and work out air
- Roller selection and use for consolidation
- Resin and catalyst handling, and how mix errors affect cure
- Reinforcement types and how they behave in a laminate
Domain 1: Basic Composites Knowledge and Overview of Open Molding Lamination (20%)
This domain is the vocabulary and process foundation. Questions here tend to be recognition-based, which makes them some of the most reliable points available if you have studied the terminology.
- Core composite materials and how fiber and resin work together
- The overall open molding process flow from mold to finished part
- Safe handling and process fundamentals
Domain 2: Gel Coat Application Technology (20%)
Gel coat is the cosmetic and protective surface of an open molded part, and errors show up as visible defects. Expect questions that connect cause and symptom.
- Gel coat thickness and its effect on the finished surface
- Application methods and equipment considerations
- Defect recognition and prevention
Taken together, Domains 1, 2, and 3 account for 70% of the exam. If you reach the end of your preparation with limited time, protect your performance in those three before polishing the 10% domains. The remaining three domains (Controlled Spraying Technology, The Approach to Quality, and Open Molding Finishing and Repair) are worth 10% each, but they add up to 30%, which is far too much to ignore on an 80% standard.
Format and Delivery: How the Exam Reaches You
The CCT-OM is delivered through ACMA's own online environment, specifically the ACMA Education Hub and its My Enrollments area. Whether an outside test-center vendor is involved has not been verified, so do not plan around a testing-center appointment. According to the live FAQ, the exam is a self-launch experience: there is no proctor, no access code, and no advance scheduling. You begin when you are ready.
That has real implications for how you think about your score:
- You control the timing. There is no testing window to chase, so you can choose a day and time when you are rested and uninterrupted. If you are curious about timing, our piece on CCT exam dates, windows, and scheduling goes through what is and is not fixed.
- The 2-hour clock is the real constraint. Without a scheduled slot to worry about, the only deadline pressure you face is the time limit once you start.
- Permissions are unverified. Whether the current exam allows open-book use, calculators, or any adaptive behavior has not been verified. Do not assume you can lean on reference material. Prepare as though recall is required, and treat any allowance you discover as a bonus.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam is self-launched with no proctor and no scheduling requirement, the easiest score you can protect is the one lost to a bad day. Start only when you have a full uninterrupted 2 hours and have already done your practice testing.
Two Attempts, One Year: Managing Your Score Risk
The retake structure matters as much as the passing score, because it determines how much risk you can take. Per the live FAQ, your enrollment includes two attempts and a one-year completion window. If you use both attempts without passing, you must go through full re-enrollment. The older $100 retake fee no longer applies, so do not budget for it.
Here is how to use that structure intelligently rather than wastefully:
- Do not treat attempt one as a dress rehearsal. With only two included attempts and a hard stop afterward, burning the first one "to see what it looks like" removes half your safety net.
- If you miss, diagnose before retrying. A failed attempt tells you that you fell below 80%, but you should reconstruct which domains likely cost you points before sitting again.
- Use the year wisely. The one-year window is generous, but it is not a reason to delay. Knowledge of gel coat and laminating practice fades if you are not working with it.
For the full cost picture around enrollment and re-enrollment, see our CCT certification cost breakdown.
What ACMA Does Not Publish (and How to Plan Around It)
A trustworthy article about passing scores has to be upfront about gaps. Here is what has not been verified publicly for the CCT-OM:
- Pass rate: Not publicly disclosed.
- Scored versus unscored questions: Split not disclosed.
- Open-book, calculator, and adaptive permissions: Not verified for the current exam.
- Per-domain minimums: The verified standard is stated as an overall 80%; no separate per-domain cutoff has been verified, so do not assume one exists, and do not assume the absence of one lets you skip a domain.
The practical response to missing information is to over-prepare against the one number you do know. Treat 80% as the floor of your practice scores, not the target. If you are building a prep plan around these unknowns, our CCT study guide for passing on the first attempt lays out a structured approach, and the CCT practice test site lets you measure yourself against realistic multiple-choice items before you spend an attempt.
Cost, Renewal, and the Score Requirement Over Time
Your score is not a one-time hurdle. Certification has a validity period, and renewal involves its own requirements. Here is what has been verified for Open Molding:
| Item | Verified Detail |
|---|---|
| Enrollment (member) | $345, including stated materials and exam |
| Enrollment (non-member) | $475, including stated materials and exam |
| Renewal (member / non-member) | $70 / $125 |
| Certification validity | Three years |
| Renewal requirement | Specialty course/workbook plus assessment |
| If expired beyond 12 months | Initial process required again |
Two cautions. First, the fee figures above are verified examples for the Open Molding and Advanced Composites enrollment pages and should not be assumed identical across every ACMA track. Second, while the Advanced Composites and Corrosion renewal pages specify a 90% requirement, the verified Open Molding information here does not establish that figure for CCT-OM renewal, so confirm the renewal score directly with ACMA when your renewal window approaches rather than assuming it matches the initial 80%.
The 3.5 CEUs awarded are not a verified universal ongoing CEU quota, so do not describe them to an employer as a standing annual requirement. If you are weighing whether the investment pays back, our analysis of whether the CCT is worth it and the CCT salary guide address the career side.
A Score-Driven Prep Sequence
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your preparation by where the points are. This is one approach, tied directly to the domain weights:
Foundation (Domain 1, 20%)
- Learn the terminology and process flow so later domains make sense
- Take a short diagnostic to find vocabulary gaps
Laminating (Domain 3, 30%)
- Spend the most time here because it is the largest domain
- Practice scenario questions on lay-up, rolling, and cure behavior
Gel Coat (Domain 2, 20%)
- Connect application variables to visible defects
The 10% Domains
- Controlled Spraying Technology, The Approach to Quality, and Open Molding Finishing and Repair
- Aim for solid competence rather than mastery
Timed Full Runs
- Simulate 100 questions in 2 hours
- Do not sit the real exam until practice scores clear 80% with a cushion
If you are still deciding whether you qualify to sit for the exam in the first place, review the CCT requirements and eligibility rules, and keep in mind that eligibility is specialty-specific. For a compact last-minute review, our CCT cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current initial Open Molding examination uses an 80% passing standard across 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2-hour time limit. Because the scored/unscored split is not disclosed, plan for at least 80 correct answers as a working target.
Your enrollment includes two attempts within a one-year completion window. If you use both attempts without passing, you must re-enroll in full. The previous $100 retake fee no longer applies.
The verified standard is an overall 80%. No separate per-domain minimum has been verified, but because Laminating Application Technology is 30% of the exam, weakness there is difficult to make up elsewhere.
No. ACMA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Open Molding exam, so treat any specific percentage you see quoted elsewhere with skepticism.
According to the live FAQ, the exam is self-launched through the ACMA Education Hub with no proctor, no access code, and no advance scheduling. You start it when you are ready, within your one-year window.
For a broader look at the credential, you can start with what CCT certification is, or try questions in the same style on the CCT practice test site to see where you stand relative to the 80% line.