CCT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis

TL;DR
  • CCT here means ACMA's Certified Composites Technician; this guide covers the Open Molding specialty (CCT-OM).
  • No verified, public CCT-OM salary figure exists, so pay depends on employer, role, region, and demonstrated shop-floor skill.
  • Laminating Application Technology carries 30% of the exam and maps most directly to production-floor value.
  • Verified enrollment is $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, including materials and the exam.

What a "CCT Salary" Really Means

Before looking at earnings, it helps to be precise about the credential. The American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA) awards the Certified Composites Technician through a family of specialty examinations. This site is scoped to one of them: Open Molding (CCT-OM). If you are new to the terminology, our explainers on what CCT is and what CCT stands for cover the naming, and CCT requirements covers eligibility by specialty.

That precision matters for a salary discussion because the credential is not a job title. Nobody is hired as a "CCT" the way someone is hired as a registered nurse. The certification documents that a technician understands open molding processes, gel coat, lamination, controlled spraying, quality, and finishing and repair. The paycheck comes from the role you hold: laminator, gel coat sprayer, chopper gun operator, finisher, repair technician, quality inspector, lead hand, or supervisor. The credential influences how credible you are when applying for, or negotiating, those roles.

Why this framing is honest: Many salary articles attach a single dollar figure to a certification. For CCT-OM, no such figure is publicly verified, and any precise number would be invented. This guide instead shows you where the credential connects to pay and how to evaluate it for your own situation.

What Salary Data Exists (and What Doesn't)

It is worth being direct about the evidence base. ACMA publishes exam content, enrollment fees, and renewal rules for the program. It does not publish a salary survey tying CCT-OM holders to a median wage, and a pass rate is not publicly disclosed either (see CCT pass rate for what is and isn't known). Third-party wage aggregators typically group composites work under broad manufacturing categories, which blends fiberglass boat builders, wind blade shops, and aerospace layup technicians into one number.

QuestionWhat is verifiedWhat is not
Is there a published CCT-OM median salary?No official ACMA figure is cited in the sources reviewedAny exact dollar amount attached to the credential
What does certification cost?$345 member / $475 non-member for Open Molding enrollment, including stated materials and examCost for every specialty track
What does renewal cost?$70 member / $125 non-member for Open MoldingA universal renewal fee across all tracks
How long is it valid?Three yearsA universal ongoing CEU quota
Does the credential guarantee a raise?Nothing published says soEmployer-specific pay policies

The practical takeaway: treat any article quoting a crisp "CCT average salary" with skepticism, including ones that borrow numbers from unrelated credentials that happen to share the same three letters. For a fuller discussion of value, see whether the CCT certification is worth it.

Where CCT-OM Skills Show Up in Pay

Compensation in open molding shops tends to track a handful of observable factors. The certification speaks to several of them.

Process control and scrap reduction

Open molding is labor-intensive, and waste is expensive. Resin and glass are consumed by the pound, gel coat defects can scrap a whole part, and rework eats labor hours. A technician who understands catalyst ratios, wet-out, roll-out, and spray pattern consistency protects margin. That is the argument an employer can attach a wage to, even though no formula converts it to a number.

Versatility across the process

Because the exam spans gel coat, hand layup, controlled spraying, quality, and finishing and repair, it signals a technician who can move between stations. Shops value people who can cover a sprayer's absence, fix a defect, and inspect their own work.

Readiness for lead and quality roles

One full domain, The Approach to Quality, is about process discipline. Technicians who can speak the language of inspection, documentation, and defect prevention are better positioned for lead, trainer, and quality technician openings, which usually sit above entry-level production pay.

Credential as a hiring filter

For employers who have not worked with a candidate before, a third-party credential from the industry's trade association reduces uncertainty. It will not replace a hands-on tryout, but it can move a resume into the "interview" pile. Our CCT jobs page goes deeper on the roles where this plays out.

The Six Domains Through a Paycheck Lens

The Open Molding Body of Knowledge, retrieved from the issuer page, defines six examination domains with weights of 20, 20, 30, 10, 10, and 10 percent. These are six content areas within a single exam, not six separate certifications. Here is how each connects to the skills employers pay for. For the complete content breakdown, read the CCT exam domains guide.

Domain 1: Basic Composites Knowledge / Manufacturing Materials and Process / Overview of Open Molding Lamination (20%)

The foundation: resins, reinforcements, cores, and how open molding fits among other composite processes.

  • Pay relevance: lets you troubleshoot instead of merely follow instructions
  • Understanding materials helps you spot a bad batch or a wrong substitution before it becomes scrap

Domain 2: Gel Coat Application Technology (20%)

The surface a customer sees first. Gel coat work rewards steady hands and punishes inconsistency.

  • Pay relevance: gel coat sprayers are specialized, and cosmetic defects are costly to repair
  • Know thickness, catalyzation, and spray technique well enough to explain defects you have seen

Domain 3: Laminating Application Technology (30%)

The heaviest domain, and the one closest to daily production. Wet-out, glass placement, roll-out, air removal, and cure behavior all live here.

  • Pay relevance: lamination quality drives structural performance and rework rates
  • At 30% of the exam, weakness here is the fastest way to fall short of the 80% passing mark

Domain 4: Controlled Spraying Technology (10%)

Spray-up equipment, calibration, and consistent deposition of resin and chopped glass.

  • Pay relevance: operators who can calibrate and troubleshoot equipment reduce downtime

Domain 5: The Approach to Quality (10%)

Process discipline, inspection, and defect prevention.

  • Pay relevance: the clearest bridge to lead, inspector, and quality technician roles

Domain 6: Open Molding Finishing and Repair (10%)

Trimming, sanding, polishing, and correcting defects.

  • Pay relevance: skilled finishers and repair techs rescue parts that would otherwise be written off

Key Takeaway

Lamination (30%) plus gel coat (20%) account for half the exam, and they are also where most open molding labor hours are spent. The credential's weighting mirrors where shops actually make or lose money.

Who Hires Open Molding Technicians

Open molding is used wherever large, complex, or low-volume fiberglass parts are produced. Think boats and marine components, tubs and spa shells, tanks and corrosion-resistant structures, truck and transit parts, and wind-related components. The certification program is run by ACMA, the composites trade association, so many candidates come from member companies whose employers sponsor the training and exam.

This has a salary implication worth stating plainly: pay differs more by employer type and region than by credential alone. A technician in a specialty marine shop, a high-volume tub manufacturer, and a corrosion-resistant fabrication plant may all hold the same certification and earn quite different wages. When comparing offers, weigh the shop's product, its training culture, overtime practice, and advancement ladder alongside the hourly rate.

Employer-sponsored candidates: If your company is paying for enrollment, your out-of-pocket cost may be zero, which changes the return calculation entirely. Ask whether a pay step, bonus, or classification change is attached to completing the certification before you sit the exam, not after.

The Investment Side: Fees, Attempts, Renewal

A salary guide is incomplete without the cost side. Verified figures for Open Molding enrollment are $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, which include the stated materials and the exam. Renewal is $70 for members and $125 for non-members. These are Open Molding figures; the Corrosion page lists the same examples, but the amounts should not be assumed to apply to every specialty track. For the full breakdown, see CCT certification cost.

ItemMemberNon-member
Open Molding enrollment (materials + exam)$345$475
Open Molding renewal$70$125
Validity periodThree years
Included attemptsTwo, within a one-year completion window

Mechanically, the exam is delivered online through the ACMA Education Hub (My Enrollments). The live FAQ describes a self-launch format with no proctor or access code and no advance scheduling. Candidates get a one-year completion window and two included attempts. If both are used without passing, full re-enrollment is required, and the old $100 retake fee no longer applies. The current exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours with an 80% passing score; the scored versus unscored split is not disclosed, and whether open-book, calculator, or adaptive rules apply has not been verified. See CCT passing score and CCT exam dates for details on timing.

Thinking about return without inventing numbers

You can reason about payback without a published salary. Ask three questions:

  1. Does my employer pay or reimburse? If yes, the cost is near zero and the decision is easy.
  2. Is there a defined raise, classification, or promotion tied to it? Get this in writing if possible.
  3. Will it open roles I cannot currently access? Lead, quality, and trainer positions are the usual candidates.

Renewal is a real recurring consideration. The credential is valid for three years, and renewal requires the specialty course or workbook and an assessment. Advanced Composites and Corrosion renewal pages specify a 90% requirement; confirm the current Open Molding renewal standard on the issuer page before your window opens. If a credential lapses and expiration exceeds 12 months, the initial process must be repeated, which wipes out the renewal discount.

Using the Credential in a Pay Conversation

Certification works best as evidence supporting a case you already have, not as a standalone demand.

Pair it with outcomes

"I'm certified" is weaker than "I'm certified, and over the last quarter my spray-up station's rework dropped after I tightened our catalyst checks." Use the Approach to Quality vocabulary to describe what you changed and what happened.

Time the conversation

The strongest moments are right after you pass, at a scheduled review, when applying for an internal opening, or when a shop is struggling with defects and needs someone who can diagnose them.

Use the credential for lateral leverage

If your current employer will not move on pay, the certification makes you more legible to other composites employers. Our overview of CCT certification and the guide to CCT training help you present it accurately on a resume: name the issuer (ACMA), the exact credential (Certified Composites Technician, Open Molding), and the date earned.

Resume accuracy: Always list the specialty. "Certified Composites Technician - Open Molding" is accurate; a bare "CCT" invites confusion with unrelated credentials that share the acronym.

A Domain-Weighted Prep Order

Since a failed attempt consumes one of your two included tries, sequencing your preparation by exam weight is the sensible approach. The full method is in the CCT study guide; here is a compact schedule built around the actual domain weights.

Week 1

Foundations (Domain 1, 20%)

  • Materials, resins, reinforcements, and the open molding overview
  • Build vocabulary you will need in every later domain
Week 2

Gel Coat (Domain 2, 20%)

  • Application technique, defects, and causes
  • Connect each defect to a preventive action
Weeks 3-4

Laminating (Domain 3, 30%)

  • Two weeks because it is the heaviest domain
  • Wet-out, air removal, cure behavior, and lamination troubleshooting
Week 5

Spraying, Quality, Finishing (Domains 4-6, 10% each)

  • Equipment calibration, inspection logic, and repair methods
  • Smaller individually, but together equal 30% of the exam
Week 6

Full-length practice

  • Simulate 100 questions in 2 hours using the CCT practice tests
  • Target 80% or higher before launching the real exam

Because the real exam is self-launched with no advance scheduling, you control when you start, which makes it tempting to begin too early. Do not launch until your practice scores are consistently at or above the passing line. If you are wondering how demanding the questions will be, read how hard the CCT exam is, and keep a one-page reference from the CCT cheat sheet handy during review.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Certified Composites Technician earn?

There is no verified, published salary figure for the Open Molding credential, so any exact number would be unreliable. Pay depends on your role, employer, region, and experience. The credential strengthens your case but does not set a fixed wage.

Does the CCT-OM certification guarantee a raise?

No. Nothing published guarantees a pay increase. Some employers attach a raise or promotion to certification, so ask your supervisor or HR before you enroll and get the terms in writing.

What does it cost to earn the Open Molding certification?

Verified Open Molding enrollment is $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, including stated materials and the exam. Renewal is $70 for members and $125 for non-members. These amounts should not be assumed for other specialty tracks.

How long does the certification last, and what does renewal require?

It is valid for three years. Renewal requires the specialty course or workbook plus an assessment. If the credential has been expired for more than 12 months, the initial process must be completed again.

What happens if I fail the exam?

Enrollment includes two attempts within a one-year completion window. If you do not pass either, full re-enrollment is required. The older $100 retake fee no longer applies, so check the current ACMA terms before your attempt.

Ready to pass your CCT exam?

Put this into practice with free CCT questions across every exam domain.