- CCT Defined: Certified Composites Technician
- Who Issues It and How the Program Is Organized
- Exam Format: What the Open Molding Test Looks Like
- The Six Open Molding Domains and Their Weights
- Concrete Skills You Need to Master
- Enrollment, Costs and Attempt Mechanics
- Eligibility and the Three-Year Renewal Cycle
- Who Benefits From the Credential
- Scheduling Your Prep Around the Domain Weights
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CCT here means Certified Composites Technician, issued by the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA).
- The Open Molding exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a 2-hour limit, and an 80% passing standard.
- Laminating Application Technology carries 30% of the exam, more than any other domain.
- Verified Open Molding enrollment is $345 for members and $475 for non-members, including materials and the exam.
CCT Defined: Certified Composites Technician
The acronym CCT is shared by several unrelated credentials in different industries, so precision matters. On this site, CCT means Certified Composites Technician, a hands-on, process-focused credential for people who build parts from fiber-reinforced plastics such as fiberglass and resin systems. If you landed here looking for a different certification that happens to use the same letters, this article does not cover it. For a short orientation on the name itself, see our explainers on what CCT stands for and CCT meaning.
The Certified Composites Technician program exists to document that a technician understands the materials, tooling, application methods, quality practices and finishing steps behind a composite part. Because composite quality depends heavily on the person holding the roller or spray gun, a credential tied to a written examination gives employers a common reference point for skill.
Who Issues It and How the Program Is Organized
The credential is issued by the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA), the trade association for the composites industry. The official individual credential name is Certified Composites Technician, singular. ACMA organizes the program by specialty, and the Open Molding specialty has its own Body of Knowledge document that defines what the exam covers. That document is the authoritative source for the six content areas and their weights, and it is the best starting point for anyone designing a study plan. Our overview of what CCT certification is adds background on how the program fits together.
Delivery runs through the ACMA Education Hub, where candidates manage their courses and exam from a My Enrollments area. We have not verified whether any outside test-center vendor is involved, so treat the process as an online, ACMA-hosted experience.
Exam Format: What the Open Molding Test Looks Like
The current initial examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2-hour time limit and an 80% passing standard. ACMA does not disclose how many of the 100 items are scored versus unscored, so plan as though every question matters. The official FAQ describes a self-launch process: there is no proctor, no access code, and no advance scheduling. You start the exam when you are ready, within your enrollment window.
| Feature | Open Molding CCT (CCT-OM) |
|---|---|
| Question format | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time limit | 2 hours |
| Passing standard | 80% |
| Launch method | Self-launch; no proctor, code, or advance scheduling |
| Completion window | One year from enrollment |
| Included attempts | Two |
| Scored/unscored split | Not disclosed |
Some details remain unverified in public sources: whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, and whether it adapts to your answers. Confirm these inside your enrollment before exam day rather than assuming. If you want to understand the cutoff in more depth, read CCT passing score, and for realistic expectations on difficulty see how hard the CCT exam is. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, which we cover in CCT pass rate.
The Six Open Molding Domains and Their Weights
The Open Molding Body of Knowledge divides the exam into six topics. The weights are 20, 20, 30, 10, 10 and 10 percent. Note that these are six content areas inside one examination, not six separate exams.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| 1. Basic Composites Knowledge/Manufacturing materials and process/Overview of Open Molding Lamination | 20% |
| 2. Gel Coat Application Technology | 20% |
| 3. Laminating Application Technology | 30% |
| 4. Controlled Spraying Technology | 10% |
| 5. The Approach to Quality | 10% |
| 6. Open Molding Finishing and Repair | 10% |
Applied to a 100-question exam, those weights suggest roughly 20, 20, 30, 10, 10 and 10 questions per domain, though ACMA does not publish an exact item count. For a full walkthrough of each area, see the CCT exam domains guide.
Concrete Skills You Need to Master
Domain 1: Basic Composites Knowledge, Materials and Process, Open Molding Overview (20%)
This is the vocabulary and concept foundation. Expect questions on what composites are, the roles of resin and reinforcement, and how open molding differs from closed processes.
- Resin and reinforcement types and what each contributes to a laminate
- The general sequence of an open molding lamination job
- Core terminology you will see throughout the other five domains
Domain 2: Gel Coat Application Technology (20%)
Gel coat is the cosmetic and protective surface of the part, applied first against the mold. Mistakes here show up on the finished face.
- Mold preparation and its effect on surface quality
- Gel coat application methods and thickness control
- Recognizing surface defects and linking them to likely causes
Domain 3: Laminating Application Technology (30%)
The heaviest domain, covering how reinforcement and resin are placed and consolidated behind the gel coat.
- Wetting out reinforcement and removing entrapped air
- Resin-to-glass ratio and why it governs strength and weight
- Layup sequencing, rolling technique and cure behavior
Domain 4: Controlled Spraying Technology (10%)
Spray-up equipment and technique, where operator consistency directly affects part quality.
- Spray equipment setup and what changes when settings drift
- Maintaining even deposition and thickness
- Safe and controlled operation practices
Domain 5: The Approach to Quality (10%)
Quality is treated as a system, not an afterthought. Questions here tend to be about process discipline.
- Inspection and documentation habits during production
- How process variables connect to defects
- Preventing problems rather than repairing them later
Domain 6: Open Molding Finishing and Repair (10%)
What happens after demolding, and how flaws are corrected.
- Trimming, sanding and finishing sequences
- Repair approaches for common surface and laminate flaws
- Deciding when a defect is cosmetic versus structural
Our CCT cheat sheet condenses the highest-yield facts from these areas into one page, and the CCT study guide shows how to sequence them.
Enrollment, Costs and Attempt Mechanics
For the verified Open Molding and Advanced Composites enrollments, pricing is $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, and that fee includes the stated course materials and the exam. ACMA's Corrosion page lists the same example figures, but we do not assert that every specialty track is priced identically, so check your own enrollment page.
The attempt rules are worth reading carefully before you start:
- You have one year from enrollment to complete the process.
- Two exam attempts are included in the enrollment price.
- If you use both attempts without passing, you must re-enroll in full. The older $100 retake fee no longer applies.
Key Takeaway
Because only two attempts are included and a third requires full re-enrollment, treat your first launch as a real attempt. Finish your preparation first, since the self-launch design means nothing stops you from starting the clock early. A full pricing breakdown lives in CCT certification cost, and scheduling specifics are in CCT exam dates.
Eligibility and the Three-Year Renewal Cycle
Eligibility depends on the specialty. For example, the Advanced Composites specialty accepts any of three routes: one year of documented experience, qualifying military or airframe training, or at least 35 hours of approved hands-on training. Do not assume the same routes apply to Open Molding; confirm what your own specialty page requires. Our CCT requirements article covers how to check and document qualification.
Once earned, the credential is valid for three years. Renewal requires completing the specialty course or workbook along with an assessment. For the Advanced Composites and Corrosion renewal pages, the assessment standard is 90%; we have not verified that figure for Open Molding, so check your renewal materials. Renewal fees for Open Molding and Advanced Composites are $70 for members and $125 for non-members. If your credential has been expired for more than 12 months, you must go through the initial process again.
One note on continuing education: the program awards 3.5 CEUs, but that is not a verified universal ongoing CEU quota, so do not plan around a recurring CEU requirement unless your renewal materials say so.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Validity period | Three years |
| Renewal fee (Open Molding / Advanced Composites) | $70 member / $125 non-member |
| Renewal requirement | Specialty course or workbook plus assessment |
| Expired more than 12 months | Initial process required again |
Who Benefits From the Credential
Open molding is the backbone of many fiberglass manufacturing operations, so the credential is most relevant to shops that produce molded parts by hand lay-up and spray-up. That includes marine fabricators, manufacturers of tanks, bathware, and transportation components, and general fiberglass job shops. Newer hires use it to show baseline competence, supervisors use it to standardize skills across a crew, and employers sometimes use it as a training benchmark.
We do not publish invented salary numbers here, because credential-specific earnings data is thin. For a careful look at what the evidence does and does not show, see the CCT salary guide, the ROI analysis, and our page on CCT jobs.
Scheduling Your Prep Around the Domain Weights
Rather than a generic study calendar, let the exam blueprint set your order. Put the heavy, process-driven material first and the smaller domains last, then spend your final stretch on timed practice. Our CCT practice tests are built around these six domains, which makes it easy to see which weight class is costing you points.
Foundations and Gel Coat (Domains 1 and 2)
- Build vocabulary for resins, reinforcements and the open molding sequence
- Study mold preparation and gel coat defects, since surface problems recur across later domains
Laminating (Domain 3)
- Spend the most time here because it is 30% of the exam
- Drill resin-to-glass ratio, wet-out, air removal and cure behavior
Spraying, Quality, Finishing and Repair (Domains 4 to 6)
- Cover the three 10% domains together, linking defects back to process causes
- Finish with mixed-domain timed practice to simulate the 2-hour limit
Because the exam is self-launched with no advance scheduling, you control the date. Use your practice results, not the calendar, to decide when you are ready. A practice score comfortably above 80% across all six domains is a sensible readiness signal given the passing standard. You can try a full-length run on the main practice test site before committing a real attempt.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Composites Technician, a credential issued by the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA). This site focuses on the Open Molding specialty, CCT-OM. Other credentials that share the acronym are unrelated and not covered here.
The current initial exam has 100 multiple-choice questions with a 2-hour time limit and an 80% passing standard. ACMA does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.
Verified Open Molding enrollment is $345 for ACMA members and $475 for non-members, including the stated materials and the exam. Pricing for other specialty tracks is not assumed to be identical, so confirm on your own enrollment page.
Enrollment includes two attempts within a one-year completion window. If both attempts are used without passing, you must re-enroll in full; the old $100 retake fee no longer applies.
It is valid for three years. Renewal requires the specialty course or workbook plus an assessment, and a credential expired beyond 12 months requires going through the initial process again.